28 Greyhounds Earn Landmark All-Conference Track & Field Honors; Spirk Named Co-Track Athlete of the Year

28 Greyhounds Earn Landmark All-Conference Track & Field Honors; Spirk Named Co-Track Athlete of the Year

TOWSON, Md. --- The Moravian College men's and women's indoor track & field teams have had a total of 28 student-athletes honored by the Landmark Conference for their performances at the 2017 Landmark Outdoor Championships last weekend hosted by the Greyhounds.

The men's squad, which captured its ninth Landmark Conference outdoor title, had 14 student-athletes earn 20 All-Conference honors. Leading the Hounds with individual Landmark All-Conference First Team honors was sophomore John Spirk, who was named the Co-Track Athlete of the Year after winning both the 110-meter high hurdles and the 400-meter hurdles for the second consecutive spring.

"It's becoming routine for John to run like he has been for us," stated Head Coach Jesse Baumann. "By his standards this weekend was run of the mill, but it shows just how far he has come in the last year. We're still hoping NCAAs are a possibility for him and we'll be chasing some last chance meets to try to make that happen next week."

The Hounds had two other multiple First Team honorees with senior Cory Taggert winning the 400-meter dash and part of the first place 4x100-meter relay with junior Eric Morton, who also won the 100-meter dash. Freshman Billy DiLolle and senior Austin Gardener were the other members of the first place 4x100 relay while freshman Greg Jaindl won the 3,000-meter steeplechase.

The men's team also had six First Team selections from the field events with senior Greg Cahill winning the discus, freshman Roland Cash taking the triple jump title, junior Robert Condo capturing the javelin, sophomore Scott Goodwin winning the pole vault, freshman Ryan Harper taking the shot put title and senior Kahron Walker capturing the high jump for the fourth straight championship meet.

Moravian had three student-athletes also earn Second Team honors with runner-up finishes including Cahill in the shot put, DiLolle in the 100-meter dash and Walker in the long jump, and senior Michael Guarino in the javelin and sophomore Devon Harris in the 800-meter run also made the Second Team.

The women's squad won its tenth straight conference outdoor title by 21 points this past Saturday. The Greyhounds had 14 student-athletes garner 19 All-Conference nods.

Junior Melissa Cheong took home three Landmark All-Conference First Team honors for her wins in the 100-meter hurdles for a second straight spring, the high jump and the long jump for a second consecutive year. The quartet of freshman Lilly Cooper, sophomores Amari Schooler and Abigail Strouse and senior Lauren White earned First Team accolades by winning the 4x100 meter relay, Moravian's tenth straight win in the event.

Junior Trista Cunningham won the discus for the second straight year while junior Beth Ann Davies repeated as the pole vault champion. Moravian's other three First Team honorees were senior Kiara Bright in the triple jump, sophomore Anna Osman in the 400-meter hurdles for the second straight year and senior Jackie Finnegan in the hammer throw.

Cooper, Finnegan and Schooler also earned Second Team honors as Cooper was the runner-up in the 200-meter dash, Finnegan took second in the discus and Schooler was second in the 100-meter hurdles. Joining them on the Second Team were freshman Carly Danoski in the 800-meter run, junior Mary Kate Duncan in the javelin, senior Rebecca Flitcroft in the 400-metter hurdles and senior Lauren Suelke in the triple jump.

Moravian is slated to return to action on Monday, May 15 at the Swarthmore College Last Chance Qualifier beginning at 4:00 p.m.