Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

R. Gene Medei '61 - Robert Martin Herbstman Award Winner

R. Gene Medei '61 is the 2019 Robert Martin Herbstman Award Winner.

BETHLEHEM, Pa. --- R. Gene Medei '61 will be receiving the Robert Martin Herbstman Award during the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame Ceremony on October 11, 2019 in Johnston Hall beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Medei, who graduated in 1961, was a two-year letterwinner on the baseball team followed by two years as a letterwinner for the wrestling squad while serving as co-captain both seasons. He was a member of the Varsity M Club all four years while attending Moravian, and he was his class Vice-President. After graduation, Medei worked for the General Accounting Office in Washington, D.C., served two years in the Army and worked for Western Electric/ATT as a Manufacturing Manager until he retired in 1995. He was also active in the Lower Saucon Township Government as well as the Freemansburg-Bethlehem Township Athletic Association, which honored him in 2018 for 50 years of dedicated voluntary service to the organization.

The Robert M. Herbstman Award recognizes an alumnus or alumna whose qualities of teamwork, leadership, and selflessness exemplify the spirit of Moravian College athletics.

Medei's honor will be presented before dinner, which will be followed by the induction ceremony for softball player Maria DeBonis Braxmeier '09; women's soccer student-athlete Tracy Fitzpatrick Franklin '09; football player Jeff Pukszyn '98 and men's tennis student-athlete Jason Toedter '06 as the class of 2019 that is being inducted into the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame. The 2005 women's soccer and 2007 softball teams will also be inducted Friday evening as well.