Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

42 Moravian Student-Athletes Named to 2016 Landmark Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll

42 Moravian Student-Athletes Named to 2016 Landmark Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll

TOWSON, Md. --- The Landmark Conference has announced its spring 2016 Landmark Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll which recognized 42 student-athletes from Moravian College. The honorees were selected from all nine Landmark Conference institutions with a total of 417 athletes.

The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all spring student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the spring season in good standing with their team. The Spring Academic Honor Roll begins the academic award season for the conference with the Senior Scholar-Athlete for the spring sports to be named in May.

Moravian had student-athletes from all six spring sports teams that compete in the Landmark Conference named to the Academic Honor Roll. Leading the Greyhounds with the most honorees was the women's outdoor track and field team with 17 student-athletes followed by the softball team with eight selections. The men's outdoor track and field team had seven honorees with the baseball team following just behind with four while the men's tennis team added three student-athletes and the women's tennis team rounding out the teams with two.

Leading the women's outdoor track and field team were seniors Abbey Clark, Christelle Reglas and Shelby Morgan. Juniors Jackie Finnegan, Larissa Strycharz, Lauren White, Meg Brockett, Rebecca Flitcroft and Sarah Hughes all met the grade followed by sophomores Kirsten Lebo, Beth Ann Davies, Carly Thorpe, Casie Cronk, Maggie Heft, Melissa Cheong, Trista Cunningham and Mary Kate Duncan. The women's team was the Landmark Conference Champion for the ninth straight year while Clark, Brockett, Cronk, Davies and Cheong made the All-Conference First Team. Making the Second Team for the Hounds were Finnegan, Cunningham and Duncan.

On the men's outdoor track side the Blue and Grey was led by graduate student Parker Munson and senior John Barr while juniors Cory Taggert, Greg Cahill and Vishu Solanki were also named to the list. The final spots on the men's team went to sophomores Kyle Allison and Mike Kopach. The men's team also won the 2016 Landmark Conference Championship for the eighth time and saw Munson earn All-Conference First Team nods while Barr and Cahill were on the Second Team. Munson was also the Field Athlete of the Year.

Leading the softball team with eight selections was senior Mary Schlosbon. The junior class is represented by Victoria Conner, Abby Jeffries and Chrissy Marinaro. The sophomore class was comprised of Josie Novak, Janae Matos, Jean Markovic and Jessica D'Agostino. The softball team was the 2016 Landmark Conference Champions and also made the NCAA Division III Tournament.

The baseball team was led by junior Nicolas Ampietro, and he was joined by sophomores Adam Howard, Clay Weidemoyer, Ezra Rawdon and Nick Mazzella. The team made the Landmark Conference Tournament this season.

On the men's tennis team seniors Matt Tuorto and C.J. Widdifield were joined by junior Giovanni Lombardi on the spring academic honor roll. The team made the ECAC South Tournament where they were the runners-up. On the women's side, senior Courtnie Lambert and junior Aisling Doyle were also named to the spring honor roll.