Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

18 Greyhounds Named to 2018 ZAG/NFHCA National Academic Squad; Nealon Earns Scholar of Distinction Honor

2018 National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division III Academic Awards.

GILBERT, Ariz. --- Eighteen student-athletes from the Moravian College field hockey team have been named to the 2018 ZAG/National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division III National Academic Squad announced by the NFHCA while sophomore Courtney Nealon was named a ZAG/NFHCA Scholar of Distinction.

"I am extremely proud of our team's academic success this year," noted Head Coach Kristen Gillis. "As an entire unit, we surpassed our GPA team goal, and to have 18 players on the Academic Squad really proves that this team embraces the student aspect of student-athlete.

"Courtney deserves an extra recognition as obtaining the Scholars of Distinction is no easy feat," Gillis continued. "She pushes herself on and off the field and truly strives for the highest level of success in everything she does."

Moravian was also one of 131 NCAA Division III schools to earn the honor of being named a ZAG/NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award winner for having a team GPA of 3.0 or higher. The Greyhounds were joined on the list by all seven of their Landmark Conference opponents - The Catholic University of America, Drew University, Elizabethtown College, Goucher College, Juniata College, The University of Scranton and Susquehanna University. The eight Landmark Conference schools combined to have 111 student-athletes named to the National Academic Squad.

Nealon was joined by seniors Emily Duddy and Elizabeth Hrehovcik, juniors Devyn Lapp, Ashley Magee, Olivia Schlofer and Haley Wrazien, sophomores Talea Gordon, Nicole Grayuski, Erica Heaney, Zoe Karvan, Ashley Kunsman and Sabrina Masone and freshmen Mae Dienes, Lauren Haffling, Hailey Miller, Carly Moor and Kendal Wilkes as the Greyhounds named to the National Academic Squad, which includes more than 1,740 student-athletes from 147 schools. To be named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad, a student-athlete must maintain at least a 3.30 grade-point average through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year.

Nealon earned Scholar of Distinction honors for the first time in her career. The Scholar of Distinction is given to student-athletes that have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.90 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year. This year, there are 268 student-athletes that earned Scholar of Distinction.

Gordon was named to the 2018 Landmark All-Conference Second Team, and she had one goal and one assist while Wilkes had four goals and one assist. Hrehovcik contributed three goals while Heaney added two goals and two assists and Dienes scored two goals. Schlofer, Haffling, Karvan and Magee each scored once last fall while Wrazien had three defensive saves and Lapp had one defensive save. Kunsman registered 130 saves with a 2.14 goals-against average in 1,180 minutes while Masone made three saves in 48 minutes of action.

The full 2018 NFHCA National Academic Squad is available at

Field Hockey Falls at Bryn Mawr
September 26, 2018 Field Hockey Falls at Bryn Mawr