Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

58 Greyhounds Named to 2017 Landmark Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll

58 Greyhounds Named to 2017 Landmark Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll

TOWSON, Md. --- The Landmark Conference has announced its 2017 Landmark Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll, which recognized 58 student-athletes from Moravian College. The honorees were selected from all eight Landmark Conference institutions with a total of 420 student-athletes.

The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all spring student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the spring season in good standing with their team. The Spring Academic Honor Roll begins the academic award season for the conference with the Senior Scholar-Athlete for the spring sports to be named later this week and the beginning of next week.

Of the 420 student-athletes recognized this spring, 217 are repeat honorees having been awarded in a previous year. A remarkable 92 seniors have been named to the Honor Roll all three years they have been eligible. Over 30 honorees were named to their respective all-conference teams this spring, while nine were announced as Athletes of the Year. Eight selections were named to the Landmark Spring All-Sportsmanship team, who demonstrate fair play, graciousness in victory and respectfulness in defeat. They are ambassadors for the team, both on and off the field, and galvanize their teammates toward their goals.

Moravian had student-athletes from all eight spring sports teams named to the Academic Honor Roll. Leading the Greyhounds with the most honorees was the women's outdoor track and field team with 21 student-athletes followed by the men's indoor track and field team with 11 selections. The softball team had eight honorees while the women's lacrosse team had six, the baseball squad had five, the men's tennis team had four, the men's lacrosse squad had two and the women's tennis team had one.

Leading the women's indoor track and field team were seniors Meg Brockett, Jackie Finnegan, Rebecca Flitcroft, Larissa Strycharz, Lauren Suelke and Lauren White. Juniors Melissa Cheong, Casie Cronk, Trista Cunningham, Mary Kate Duncan, Maggie Heft, Kirsten Lebo, Carly Thorpe and Holly Wagner made the honor roll along with sophomores Sara DeFranco, Adriana Facchiano, Lian Grow, Alyssa Limbaugh, Amari Schooler, Abigail Strouse and Danielle Tomko. The women's team won the 2017 Landmark Conference Outdoor Championships with Cheong, Finnegan, White, Schooler, Strouse and Cunningham making the All-Conference First Team. Earning spots on the All-Conference Second Team for the Hounds were Suelke, Duncan, Finnegan and Flitcroft. Brockett was also a member of the Landmark Conference All-Sportsmanship Team.

On the men's outdoor track list for the Blue and Grey were seniors Greg Cahill, Michael Guarino, Jordan Sweeney and Cory Taggert, juniors Kyle Allison and Mike Kopach and sophomores Jon Anthony, Woodrow Battle, Tyler Bergsma, Aaron Hofmann and John Spirk. Moravian's men won their ninth Landmark Conference outdoor title with Cahill, Spirk and Taggert earning spots on the All-Conference First Team and Cahill and Guarino garnering All-Conference Second Team honors.

The softball squad had seniors Victoria Conner, Abby Jeffries and Chrissy Marinaro, juniors Jean Markovic, Janae Matos and Josie Novak and sophomores Ashley Gindle and Madison Shaneberger named to the Academic Honor Roll. Jeffries, Matos and Novak were selected to the Landmark Conference All-Conference First Team for their play throughout the season with Matos named the Landmark Conference Player of the Year and Novak selected as the Landmark Conference Pitcher of the Year for the second straight spring. The Greyhounds were 36-6 on the year. Marinaro was also a member of the Landmark Conference All-Sportsmanship Team.

The women's lacrosse team had juniors Kristen Baxter and Kyleigh McGovern as well as sophomores Dalia Aguilar, Kelley Gavin, Jillian Picciuto and Melissa Webber named to the Academic Honor Roll. Picciuto was also selected to the Landmark All-Conference Second Team while Baxter was on the Landmark Conference Spring All-Sportsmanship Team.

The baseball team had juniors Adam Howard, Nicholas Mazzella, Ezra Rawdon and Clay Weidemoyer and sophomore Mike Mittl selected to the Academic Honor Roll with Mittl also making the Landmark Conference All-Sportsmanship Team.

The men's tennis squad had senior Giovanni Lombardi, junior David Wilson and sophomores Peter Demyan and Austin Grace named to the Academic Honor Roll. Lombardi was also a member of the Landmark Conference All-Sportsmanship Team.

Junior Michael Debowski and sophomore Austin Adams were the selections from the men's lacrosse program to the Academic Honor Roll this spring.

The lone women's tennis honoree was junior Grace Bailly. The women's tennis team was 10-7 and reached the Landmark Conference Semifinals this spring.