Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

40 Greyhounds Named to 2018 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll

The Landmark Conference has announced the 2018 Winter Academic Honor Roll.

TOWSON, Md. --- The Landmark Conference has announced its winter 2017-18 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, which recognized 40 student-athletes from Moravian College. The honorees were selected from all eight Landmark Conference institutions with a total of 347 student-athletes.

The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all winter student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the winter season in good standing with their team. The Winter Academic Honor Roll begins the academic award season for the conference with the Senior Scholar-Athlete for the winter sports to be named later this month.

Of the 347 student-athletes recognized this fall, 124 are repeat honorees having been awarded in a previous year. A remarkable 56 seniors have been named to the Honor Roll all three years they have been eligible. Over 30 honorees were named to their respective all-conference teams this winter, while eight were announced as Athletes of the Year.

Moravian had student-athletes from all four winter sports teams named to the Academic Honor Roll. Leading the Greyhounds with the most honorees was the women's indoor track and field team with 17 student-athletes followed by the men's indoor track and field team with 11 selections while the women's basketball team had nine and the men's basketball team added three student-athletes.

Leading the women's indoor track and field team were seniors Melissa Cheong, Casie Cronk, Beth Ann Davies, Maggie Heft, Kirsten Lebo, and Carly Thorpe. Juniors Alyssa Limbaugh, Jordan Luciano, Amari Schooler, Abigail Strouse and Danielle Tomko made the honor roll along with sophomores Carly Danoski, Marlee Hornbaker, Meghan Lazarchak, Katie Mayer, Shayne McNally, and Rachel Mikols. The women's team returned to the top of the podium by winning its 10th Landmark Conference Indoor Championship with Davies, Danoski, Lazarchak, Luciano, Schooler and Tomko making the All-Conference First Team. Schooler also earned a spot on the All-Conference Second Team for the Hounds.

On the men's indoor track list for the Blue and Grey were seniors Mike Kopach and Josh Toth, juniors Jon Anthony, Woodrow Battle, Tyler Bergsma, Aaron Hofmann, John Spirk and Alex Tursi and sophomores Ryan Harper, Greg Jaindl and Gavin Kemery. Moravian's men won their ninth straight Landmark Conference title with Spirk named the Landmark Conference Indoor Track Athlete of the Year. Spirk, Jaindl, and Kopach earned spots on the All-Conference First Team while Harper and Jaindl garnered All-Conference Second Team honors.

The women's basketball team had graduate student Camille McPherson, seniors Trista Cunningham and Jen Cella, junior Ariana Caiati and sophomores Karlie Brogan, Maddie Capuano, Nadine Ewald, Christine Neu and Brooke Santy named to the Academic Honor Roll. McPherson and Capuano were selected to the Landmark Conference All-Conference First Team for their play throughout the season. The Greyhounds were 17-9 on the year and made the Landmark Conference Semifinals.

The men's basketball team honorees include junior Nicholas Casazza and sophomores C.J. Barnes and Mike Martino. The Hounds set the school record for victories with 20, and the program won its first-ever Landmark Conference title. Moravian is 20-7 on the season and will play Ramapo College of New Jersey in the first round of the 2018 NCAA Division III National Championship Tournament on Friday, March 2 at 5:30 p.m. in Williamstown, Massachusetts.