Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

12 Greyhounds Selected to 2019 ZAG/NFHCA National Academic Squad; Wells Earns Scholar of Distinction

Twelve Greyhounds earn ZAG/National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Squad honors.

GILBERT, Ariz. --- Twelve student-athletes from the Moravian College field hockey team have been selected to the 2019 ZAG/National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division III National Academic Squad announced by the NFHCA while freshman Emily Wells was named as a ZAG/NFHCA Scholar of Distinction.

Moravian was also one of 147 NCAA Division III schools to earn the honor of being named a ZAG/NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award winner for having a team GPA of 3.0 or higher. The Greyhounds were joined on the list by all seven of their Landmark Conference opponents - The Catholic University of America, Drew University, Elizabethtown College, Goucher College, Juniata College, The University of Scranton and Susquehanna University. The eight Landmark Conference schools combined to have 114 student-athletes named to the National Academic Squad.

Wells was joined by seniors Devyn Lapp, Olivia Schlofer and Haley Wrazien, juniors Mae Dienes, Talea Gordon, Nicole Grayuski and Ashley Kunsman, sophomore Olivia Emrick and freshmen Mackenzie Jakobsen, Elise Keeney and Brooke Wilkinson as the Greyhounds named to the National Academic Squad, which includes more than 1,940 student-athletes from 157 schools. To be named to the NFHCA National Academic Squad, a student-athlete must maintain at least a 3.30 grade-point average through the first semester of the 2019-20 academic year.

Wells earned Scholar of Distinction honors for the first time in her career. The Scholar of Distinction is given to student-athletes that have achieved a cumulative grade point average of 3.90 or higher through the first semester of the 2019-20 academic year. This year, there are 319 student-athletes that earned Scholar of Distinction. Wells led Moravian in scoring with five goals and an assist last fall for 11 points.

Kunsman was named to the 2019 Landmark All-Conference Second Team, and she had a 2.34 goals-against average with 132 saves, a shutout and a 5-12 record in 923 minutes of action. Emrick contributed a goal and an assist while Gordon had one goal and a pair of defensive saves. Dienes and Grayuski each had a pair of assists while Jakobsen had one assist. Wrazien and Keeney both had one defensive save while Wilkinson recorded 17 saves with a 2.61 goals-against average in 138 minutes of action

The full 2019 NFHCA National Academic Squad is available at