Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Holder, Murray & Barnes Earn Landmark All-Conference Honors

C.J. Barnes, Oneil Holder and Jimmy Murray earn Men's Basketball Landmark All-Conference honors

TOWSON, Md. --- Moravian College seniors Oneil Holder and Jimmy Murray have been named to the 2019 Landmark Conference Men's Basketball All-Conference First Team while junior guard C.J. Barnes earned a spot on the All-Conference Second Team.

The trio has helped the Greyhounds to a 19-8 mark this winter, the third straight season of 19 wins under fourth-year Head Coach Justin Potts. Holder, Murray and Barnes also led the Hounds to their second consecutive Landmark Conference Championship and an automatic berth to the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship Tournament with a first round game versus Keene State (N.H.) College in Clinton, New York on Friday, March 1 at 5:30 p.m.

"I want to congratulate Jimmy, O and CJ," stated Potts. "All three guys are very deserving of the honor and have put in the work necessary to see on court success."

Holder, a forward, repeats as a First Team honoree after receiving the honor in 2018, and he was selected as the Landmark Conference Rookie of the Year in 2016. Holder is scoring 18.4 points and grabbing 6.6 rebounds per contest with 73 assists, 46 steals, 28 blocked shots and 26 three-pointers, he was selected to the 2019 Lehigh Valley Small College Basketball Team of the Year. Holder is fourth in school history with 1,620 points in a school record 108 games played, and he is also sixth all-time with 703 rebounds and third in program history with 110 blocked shots.

"O has had a very memorable career," noted Potts. "He will be at the top of several categories once his career is finished. This has been a special season for him. His consistency day in and day out was impressive and his versatility on the court made him a really tough matchup. All his hard work was rewarded this season."

Murray, a guard, was named to the Landmark All-Conference First Team as well in 2018 after making the Second Team in 2017. Murray is netting in 13.9 points per game to go with 60 rebounds, 47 three-pointers, 43 assists and 23 steals. Murray is seventh in school history with 1,496 points in 101 games, and he has made a school record 215 three-pointers in his career.

"Jimmy has had a tremendous career and his numbers speak for themselves," Potts said. "His consistency scoring the ball and ability to stretch the D has been very instrumental in our overall team success."

Barnes, a guard, has worked his way into the starting line-up this year and is contributing 12.2 points and 4.4 rebounds per outing to go with 59 three-pointers, 18 steals and 16 assists. Barnes has 822 points and 285 career rebounds in 82 games for Moravian.

"CJ has really grown over the last two years," Potts explained. "His work ethic and commitment has really paid off. It is great to see him earn this honor after all his hard work. CJ has been instrumental in our success this season . His ability to stretch the D while also being active on the glass have really added to our team.

"All three guys deserve this but I'm sure they would tell you the overall team success is what they value the most," Potts finished.

The Greyhounds will play the fifth NCAA Division III Tournament game in school history on Friday, March 1 against Keene as the Blue and Grey look for the program's first-ever win in the NCAA Tournament.

View the entire 2019 Landmark All-Conference teams at