Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

42 Hounds Selected to 2019 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll

2019 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll

TOWSON, Md. --- The Landmark Conference has announced its winter 2018-19 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, which recognized 42 student-athletes from Moravian College. The honorees were selected from all eight Landmark Conference institutions with a total of 365 student-athletes.

The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all winter student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the winter season in good standing with their team. The Winter Academic Honor Roll begins the academic award season for the conference with the Senior Scholar-Athlete for the winter sports to be named later this month.

Of the 365 student-athletes recognized this fall, 183 are repeat honorees having been awarded in a previous year. A remarkable 56 seniors have been named to the Honor Roll all three years they have been eligible. 33 honorees were named to their respective all-conference teams this winter, while nine were announced as Athletes of the Year. 22 student-athletes were also named to the Landmark Conference Winter All-Sportsmanship Team.

Moravian had student-athletes from all four winter sports teams named to the Academic Honor Roll. Leading the Greyhounds with the most honorees was the women's indoor track and field team with 20 student-athletes followed by the men's indoor track and field team with 12 selections while the women's basketball team had seven and the men's basketball team added three student-athletes.

Leading the women's indoor track and field team were seniors Alyssa Limbaugh and Jordan Luciano who were joined by juniors Vanessa Blose, Carly Danoski, Marlee Hornbaker, Katie Mayer, Shayne McNally, Rachel Mikols and Hailee Yoder and sophomores Cat Cole, Jenevieve Eberly, Grace Gilbert, Nora Grimm, Kasey Hanlon, Alison Nicolosi, Natalie Novotni, Emily Renner, Molly Talarico, Morgan Weaver and Camaryn Wheeler. The Greyhounds won their second straight and 11th overall Landmark Conference Indoor Championship with Danoski, Luciano, Novotni, Weaver and Wheeler making the All-Conference First Team. Luciano, Novotni and Weaver also earned spots on the All-Conference Second Team for the Hounds.

On the men's indoor track list for the Blue and Grey were seniors Jon Anthony, Woodrow Battle, Tyler Bergsma, Aaron Hofmann and John Spirk, juniors Devon Fogel, Ryan Harper, Greg Jaindl, Gavin Kemery and Alex Tursi and sophomores Peter Gingrich and Derek Scott. Moravian's men captured their 10th consecutive and 11th overall Landmark Conference title with Spirk named the Landmark Conference Indoor Track Athlete of the Year for a second straight winter. Spirk, Jaindl, and Anthony earned spots on the All-Conference First Team while Gingrich, Harper and Jaindl garnered All-Conference Second Team honors.

The women's basketball team had seniors Ariana Caiati and Caitlin Flanagan, juniors Karlie Brogan, Maddie Capuano, Nadine Ewald and Brooke Santy and sophomore Raquel Lopez De Boer named to the Academic Honor Roll. Capuano were selected to the Landmark Conference All-Conference First Team while Ewald was named to the All-Conference Second Team. The Greyhounds were 16-10 on the year and competed in the Landmark Conference Semifinals.

The men's basketball team honorees include senior Nicholas Casazza and juniors C.J. Barnes and Mike Martino. Barnes was named to the Landmark All-Conference Second Team. The Hounds tied the school record for victories with 20 with the program's first-ever NCAA Division III Tournament victory on March 1. The squad finished the year at 20-9, winning a second straight Landmark Conference title and reaching the Second Round of the NCAA Tournament for the first time.

To view the full 2019 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, visit