Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Greyhounds Picked to Repeat as Landmark Conference Champions in Preseason Poll

Greyhounds Picked to Repeat as Landmark Conference Champions in Preseason Poll

TOWSON, Md. --- The Moravian College softball squad has been selected to repeat as conference champions in the 2017 Landmark Conference Preseason Poll voted on by the conference coaches.

The Greyhounds received six first place votes and 60 points while The Catholic University of America was selected second in the poll with 50 points and the final first place tally. Susquehanna University came in third in the poll with 31 points while The University of Scranton in fourth with 22 points.

Moravian, which was 37-6 last season, is aiming for its 23rd consecutive postseason appearance this spring after winning the program's second straight and seventh overall Landmark Conference title last spring. The Greyhounds have been in the NCAA Division III Tournament in 16 of the past 18 years with four regional championships and three World Series appearances."

"Being selected first in the poll shows the team the respect that they have earned from the other coaches in the conference but it is just a starting point for the season," stated Head Coach John Byrne. "We have a very strong group of returning players as well as a good mix of freshmen coming into the program that we expect to come together as one total unit. We need that group to play well in each conference doubleheader so we can be one of the teams in the Landmark Tournament in May."

Moravian, which is ranked No. 17 in the current National Fastpitch Coaches Association Division III Poll, begins the season on Sunday, March 5 with games against SUNY Oneonta and Misericordia University at the National Training Center in Clermont, Florida beginning at 8:00 a.m.


2017 Landmark Conference Softball Preseason


Institution (First Place)



Moravian College (6)



The Catholic University of America (1)



Susquehanna University



The University of Scranton



Elizabethtown College



Juniata College



Drew University