Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

25 Greyhounds Named to Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll

25 Greyhounds Named to Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll

TOWSON, Md. --- The Landmark Conference has announced its winter 2015-16 Landmark Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll which recognized 25 student-athletes from Moravian College. The honorees were selected from all nine Landmark Conference institutions with a total of 310 athletes.

The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all winter student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the winter season in good standing with their team. The Winter Academic Honor Roll begins the academic award season for the conference with the Senior Scholar-Athlete for the winter sports to be named in March. Moravian had student-athletes from all four winter sports teams named to the Academic Honor Roll. Leading the Greyhounds with the most honorees was the women's indoor track and field team with 15 student-athletes followed by the men's indoor track and field team with six selections while the women's basketball team had three and the men's basketball team added one student-athlete.

Leading the women's indoor track and field team were seniors Abbey Clark, Christelle Reglas, and Shelby Morgan. Juniors Jackie Finnegan, Larissa Strycharz, Lauren White, Meg Brockett, Rebecca Flitcroft and Sarah Hughes all met the grade followed by sophomores Kirsten Lebo, Beth Ann Davies, Carly Thorpe, Casie Cronk, Maggie Heft and Melissa Cheong. The women's team was the Landmark Conference Champion for the ninth straight year while Finnegan, Brockett and Cronk made the All-Conference First Team. Making the Second Team for the Hounds were Cheong, who was also Co-Field Athlete of the year, Flitcroft, Clark and Reglas.

On the men's indoor track side the Blue and Grey was led by graduate student Parker Munson and senior John Barr while juniors Cory Taggert, Greg Cahill and Vishu Solanki were also named to the list. The final spot on the men's team went to sophomore Mike Kopach. The men's team also won the 2016 Landmark Conference Championship for a seventh consecutive year and saw Taggert and Cahill earn All-Conference First Team nods while Barr was on the Second Team. Cahill was also the Field Athlete of the Year.

The women's basketball team had one student-athlete from each class qualify for the honor. The first being senior Karine Polgar, next was junior Camille McPherson and finally sophomore Trista Cunningham. McPherson was honored on the Landmark Conference All-Conference Second Team for her play throughout the season. The Greyhounds were 20-8 on the year and made the NCAA DIII Tournament and upset host the University of New England in the first round of play.

The lone men's basketball honoree was sophomore Jack Aussenheimer. The men's basketball team ended the season with a record of 11-14 in the first season with Head Coach Justin Potts '00 at the helm.

Men's Basketball Newsletter
December 16, 2015 Men's Basketball Newsletter