Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Moravian Heading to Vermont to Play Cairn in Opening Round of 2019 NCAA DIII Championships on May 10

Moravian women's tennis team heading to Vermont in 2019 NCAA Division III Tournament.

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. --- The Moravian College women's tennis, fresh off of winning the 2019 Landmark Conference Championship, will be heading to Middlebury (Vt.) College to play Cairn University in the first round of the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship Tournament on Friday, May 10 at 4:00 p.m.

The Hounds, who are 19-1 overall and finished the Landmark Conference regular season with a 7-0 slate under the leadership of first-year Director of Tennis Aaron Wilf, captured the program's fourth Landmark Conference Championship this past Saturday with a 5-2 win over The University of Scranton to earn Moravian's third berth to the NCAA Division III Tournament. The Blue and Grey fell to Johns Hopkins University in 2007 and the University of Mary Washington (Va.) in 2011 in the program's first two NCAA appearances, both by 5-0 scores. The Highlanders, 9-4, earned an automatic bid by winning the Colonial States Athletic Conference

In other first round action, Steven's Institute of Technology (10-1 and the Empire 8 Conference Champion) will play St. Joseph's (L.I.) College (9-3 and the Skyline Conference Champion) while the host Panthers (16-2 and an at-large selection) and Tufts University (8-9 and an at-large selection) both received byes into the second round. The Moravian/Cairn winner will face No. 3 ranked Middlebury in the second round on Saturday, May 11 at 3:00 p.m. (4:00 p.m. if moved indoors due to weather).

The single-elimination tournament features first, second and third rounds played at regional sites, May 9-11 or May 10-12. Kalamazoo College will host the team championships finals, which will be held May 20-19 at Stowe Stadium and Sorensen Courts in Kalamazoo. Michigan. Student-athletes selected to the individual championships will be announced Wednesday, May 8. For more information on the championships, visit

The championship provides for a 49-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) is granted to 40 conference champions, which form "Pool A." One team is selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions (Pool B). The remaining eight teams are selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference's AQ and the remaining Pool B institutions (Pool C). The teams are geographically paired, whenever possible.

The Greyhounds are being led in singles action by junior Lauren Steinert, who has a 19-0 singles mark, and sophomore Brooke Adams, who is 18-0 on the year. Sophomore Emma Angle has a 15-2 record in singles play while sophomore Mary Angle is 13-5 overall. Junior Eiman Nazif has posted a 13-0 single slate while sophomore Kristen Cassidy is 10-0 and senior Kate Rennar is 9-0 in singles. Sophomore Destiny George has a 3-1 singles mark while freshman Hannah Pellicciotti has a 2-1 singles slate.

Steinert and Mary Angle had combined for a 15-5 record in doubles action while Nazif and Emma Angle are 11-3. Adams and Emma Angle have teamed up for a 3-0 doubles mark while Adams is also 8-3 with Cassidy and 3-1 with Rennar. Rennar is also 2-0 with Emma Angle. Cassidy and Pellicciotti have combine for one victory in doubles while George has two doubles wins including one with Pellicciotti.

Links for live stats and video of the NCAA matches will be announced at a later time.

To view the full 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis National Championship bracket, visit