Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

20 Student-Athletes Named to Landmark Fall Academic Honor Roll

Landmark Conference logo

TOWSON, Md. --- The Landmark Conference has recognized 235 student-athletes including 20 from Moravian College by selecting them for the 2012 Fall Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll. The honorees were selected from all eight Landmark Conference institutions.

Of the 235 student-athletes recognized this fall, 122 are repeat honorees having been awarded in 2010 and/or 2011. A remarkable 49 seniors, including six from Moravian, have been named to the Honor Roll all three years they have been eligible. This fall's honorees also include 48 student-athletes who were recognized as All-Landmark earlier this month and 37 who were part of Landmark Championship teams. Eighteen award-winners are still competing in NCAA competition.

The Landmark Academic Honor Roll recognizes all fall student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative GPA of 3.2 or higher. The Landmark Fall All-Academic Team, which features two male and two female student-athletes from each Landmark institution will be released later this season. In addition, a Senior Scholar Athlete will be chosen for each Landmark sport.

The Landmark Conference is in its sixth season of competition and includes eight institutions covering the mid-Atlantic region. The Landmark crowned six team championships this fall.

Moravian had student-athletes from all six fall teams that compete in the conference with the field hockey team leading the way with seven members.

The field hockey team finished its 2012 campaign with an 8-9 record and had seven players named to the Academic Honor Roll led by senior's goalkeeper and Landmark All-Conference Second Team selection Catherine Gottlieb (Blackwood, N.J./Paul VI) and forward Briana Van Buskirk (Stroudsburg, Pa./Strougsburg). One junior made the academic honor roll, goalie Andrea Eck (Catasauqua, Pa./Catasauqua) and four sophomores midfielder and Landmark All-Conference Second Team selection Catherine Duffin (Moorestown, N.J./Moorestown), forward Taylor Holly (Barnegat, N.J./Barnegat) and midfielders Emily Marley (Lambertville, N.J./South Hunterdon) and Valerie Male (Bath, Pa./Northampton).

The women's cross country team finished as the runner-up for the Landmark Conference Championship had four members named to the Academic Honor Roll. Sophomores and Landmark All-Conference Second Team selections Claire Del Casale (Philadelphia, Pa./St. Hubert's) and Jessie Goldberg (Conshohocken, Pa./Plymouth Whitemarsh) were named to the Academic Honor Roll. Also earning a spot were senior Emma Pacheco and sophomore Emily Lambright (Chalfont, Pa./Christopher Dock).

The women's soccer finished 10-9-2 overall after earning an ECAC Division III South Tournament bid had three members elected to the Honor Roll. Senior defender and Landmark Conference Defensive Player of the Year Eileen Black (Branchburg, N.J./Sommerville) earned the honor with classmate goalie Tori Korona (Easton, Pa./Easton). Sophomore midfielder and Landmark Conference Co-Offensive Player of the Year Kirsten Schall (Tinton Falls, N.J./Saint Rose) was also named to the Academic Honor Roll.

The volleyball had three members earning Academic Honor Roll status after finishing its season with a school-record 29 wins. Senior right-side hitter and Landmark All-Conference Second Team selection Samantha Savite (Long Valley, N.J./West Morris Central) was named to the Academic Honor Roll with junior middle blocker Brittany O'Hara (Perkasie, Pa./Pennridge) and sophomore outside hitter Taylor Jennings (Cedar Run, N.J./Southern Regional).

The men's soccer squad had two players named to the Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll. Senior midfielder Nicholas Hurff (Sewell, N.J./St. Augustine Prep) and sophomore midfielder Lewis Cooper (Royersford, Pa./Spring-Ford) earned the honor.

Sophomore Dillon Farrell (North Wales, Pa./Wissahickon), who was the Landmark Conference Runner of the Year and earned All-Region honors, was the lone men's cross country runner named to the Academic Honor Roll. Farrell will also be competing at the NCAA Division III National Championships this weekend, November 17th at Rose Hulman Institute of Technology in Terre Haute, Indiana.