Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Moravian Men Win Three Track Events at Muhlenberg Invitational

Woodrow Battle '19 clears the final hurdle in a race at the Lafayette College 8-Way Meet in March 2018.
Woodrow Battle '19 clears the final hurdle in a race at the Lafayette College 8-Way Meet in March 2018.

ALLENTOWN, Pa. --- The Moravian College men's track & field team recorded three first place finishes on the track at the Muhlenberg College Invitational Saturday.

Freshman Zion Howard was a double-winner as he captured the 100-meter dash in 10.86 seconds and the 200-meter dash in 21.52 seconds, the second fastest time in the nation on the Track & Field Results Reporting System list. Junior Brian Stock took third in the 100-meter dash in 11.38 seconds.

Junior John Spirk won the 110-meter high hurdles in a time of 15.68 seconds while junior Woodrow Battle was third in 17.39 seconds. Spirk was also the runner-up in the 400-meter dash in 50.57 seconds with freshman Sean McFarland in sixth at 51.86 seconds and senior Andrew Mitchell in eighth in 52.31 seconds. McFarland was also tenth in the 200-meter dash in 23.48 seconds.

Elsewhere on the track, junior Devon Harris was third in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:57.34, and he was followed by sophomore Greg Jaindl in fourth at 1:57.87 and sophomore Gavin Kemery in seventh with a time of 2:00.95. Junior Benjamin Smith was seventh in the 5,000-meter run in 15:58.07.

Junior Jon Anthony placed third in the discus with a toss of 43.54 meters (142-10) while freshman Shane Mastro took eighth with a mark of 40.04 meters (131-4). Junior Hunter Gibson was fifth in the hammer throw with a distance of 40.71 meters (133-7) while Anthony placed eighth at 38.80 meters (127-3).

Junior Scott Goodwin was fifth in the pole vault at 4.40 meters (14-5.25) while freshman Michael Elo was fifth in the long jump with a distance of 6.10 meters (20-0.25) and junior Da'Juon Hibbert was ninth at 5.75 meters (18-10.5).

The Greyhounds are scheduled to return to action on Friday, April 13 in the first day of the annual Coach P Open with action beginning at 3:00 p.m. at Timothy Breidegam Track and Rocco Calvo Field in Bethlehem.