Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Former Greyhound Coach Scot Dapp Selected to MAC Hall of Fame

Scot Dapp selected to MAC Hall of Fame.

ANNVILLE, Pa. --- Former Moravian College Head Football Coach and Director of Athletics Scot Dapp has been selected as part of the eighth class to be inducted into the Middle Atlantic Conference Hall of Fame announced by the MAC office Tuesday.

The MAC of which Moravian was a member from 1945 until 2007 established a Hall of Fame as part of the celebration of its 100th anniversary in 2012-13. Moravian's Rocco Calvo and Harvey "Gil" Gillespie were two of a 36-member inaugural class selected in 2011-12 from current and former MAC member institutions while Kathy Beck DeKorte '92 was honored in 2013-14, Doug Pollard was selected in 2014-15, Heather Bortz '05 was picked in 2015-16 and Christina Scherwin '05 and Heidi Wolfsberger Peoples '02 were honored in 2016-17. Emily Shertzer '02 was selected last spring. All nine of Greyhounds' MAC Hall of Fame selections are also members of Moravian's Athletic Hall of Fame.

Dapp retired from Moravian College after 28 years served as the head football coach (24 years) and the last four years as the athletic director. In 24 seasons as head football coach, Dapp led the Greyhounds to a 144-103-1 record, the most wins in school history. His teams strung together 11 consecutive winning seasons (1988-98), which is the longest streak in school history. His Greyhounds were MAC Champions in 1988, and Commonwealth League Champions in 1993. The 1988 squad was the first team to advance to the NCAA Tournament. Dapp also led his teams to five ECAC championship game berths, including an ECAC title in 2005 and 2010. He was named the MAC Coach of the Year in 1988, 1993 and 1997.

Dapp served for three years as the Chairman of the Division III Football Council, and in 1999, he was elected to the Board of Trustees for the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). Six years after being named to the Board, Dapp was elected as the President of the AFCA in 2005 making him only the fifth Division III coach to hold that position in the 83-year history of the Association. From 2010 through 2012, Dapp served on two NCAA Committees: the Football Rules Committee and the Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports Committee. In 2011 and 2012, he was the Chair of the Football Rules Committee.

In 2002, Dapp was recognized by the All-American Football Foundation with the John Vaught Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding performance in his profession. The same organization honored him in 2007 with the Outstanding Association President award. In 2006, Dapp received the John Whitehead Award at the Nike Coach of the Year Clinic for his contribution to the game. He was inducted into the Moravian College Athletics Hall of Fame in 2016.

To view the entire 2019 induction class to the MAC Hall of Fame, visit