Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Maria DeBonis Braxmeier '09 - New Moravian Hall of Fame Inductee

New Moravian College Hall of Fame inductee Maria DeBonis Braxmeier, Class of 2009

BETHLEHEM, Pa. --- Maria DeBonis Braxmeier '09, an All-American softball player, is being inducted into the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame on October 11, 2019 in Johnston Hall beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Braxmeier, who graduated from Moravian in 2009, was a four-year member of the softball squad although she missed her freshman season after an injury while competing for the Greyhounds' volleyball team in the first week of her collegiate career. Braxmeier was selected to the 2007 National Fastpitch Coaches Association Division III All-America Second Team while helping the program to the NCAA Division III World Series, and she was the Commonwealth Conference pitcher of the Year in 2007 and the Landmark Conference Pitcher of the Year in 2008.  Braxmeier earned spots on the Commonwealth All-Conference First Team in 2007, and the Landmark All-Conference First Team in 2008 and 2009, making the squad as both a pitcher and designated player in 2008. She was also honored on the NFCA All-East Region First Team in 2007 and 2008 and the Second Team in 2009.

Braxmeier, Moravian's Co-Senior Female Athlete of the Year in 2009, tossed 435 career innings in the circle to go with 528 strikeouts, 51 victories, a 1.01 ERA, 22 shutouts, six no-hitters and four perfect games. At the plate, Braxmeier had a .337 batting average, 110 hits, 74 runs, 77 RBIs and 13 home runs in her career.

Braxmeier is being joined by women's soccer player Tracy Fitzpatrick Franklin '09; football player Jeff Pukszyn '98; men's tennis student-athlete Jason Toedter '04 and men's track & field competitor Nathaniel Tussey '08 in the class of 2019 that will be inducted into the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame. The 2007 softball team that Braxmeier played on and the 2005 women's soccer squad that Franklin participated on will also be inducted on October 11 while Gene Medei '61 will receive the Robert Martin Herbstman Award.

Online registration for the 2019 Moravian College Hall of Fame Ceremony closes on October 1 and is available at