Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2007 Softball Team - New Moravian Hall of Fame Inductee

2007 softball team, a new Moravian Hall of Fame Inductee.

BETHLEHEM, Pa. --- The 2007 Moravian College softball squad is being inducted into the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame on October 11, 2019 in Johnston Hall beginning at 6:00 p.m.

The team coached by John Byrne '82, made the program's second trip to the NCAA Division III World Series before finishing the year with a 35-7 record. The Greyhounds captured their eighth straight Commonwealth Conference Championship after going 13-1 during the conference regular season, and the Hounds won the NCAA Division III Montclair, New Jersey Regional by sweeping three games. Sophomore pitcher/designated player Maria DeBonis Braxmeier, one of the other Moravian Hall of Fame inductees, went 18-2 in the circle and also had a .317 batting average while earning National Fastpitch Coaches Association Second Team All-America honors. The team had DeBonis, sophomore outfielder Erica Klepeisz and junior infielder Beth Paly named to the Commonwealth All-Conference First Team and sophomore pitcher Kristie Pellicani, sophomore catcher Deanna Mangieri and second first baseman Lauren Homa selected to the Commonwealth All-Conference Second Team.

DeBonis Braxmeier is being joined by women's soccer student-athlete Tracy Fitzpatrick Franklin '09; football student-athlete Jeff Pukszyn '98 and men's tennis competitor Jason Toedter '04 in the class of 2019 that will be inducted into the Moravian College Athletic Hall of Fame. The 2005 women's soccer team that Franklin played on will also be inducted on October 11 while Gene Medei '61 will receive the Robert Martin Herbstman Award.

Online registration for the 2019 Moravian College Hall of Fame Ceremony closes on October 6 and is available at